DriveWorks Pro 18: General Settings [send feedback...]

General Settings

Default Specification Folder

This is the root location from where all new DriveWorks Models, Drawings and additional file formats will be stored. Any new specification files and documents can be stored in a separate location.

Each model generated by DriveWorks can be stored in a subfolder of this location.

To choose the Default Specification Folder location:

  1. Click the Browse button located at the end of the Default Specification Folder field
  2. Select the folder where the files are to be stored from the Browse for Folder dialog
  3. Click "OK"

Group Content folder

This is the location where global macros required for all projects within a Group are stored.

The Macros that are to be used globally must be stored in a folder called Macros, for example, if the Group content folder is found at "C:\DriveWorks\My Project\" then the global Macros folder should be found at "C:\DriveWorks\My Project\Macros"

Four types of Macro can be stored here:
  1. Model.swp - will run on all models before any individual macros are executed
  2. ModelAfterMacro.swp - will run on all models after any individual macros have been executed
  3. Drawing.swp - will be run on all drawings before any individual macros have been executed
  4. DrawingAfterMacro.swp - will be run on all drawings after any individual macros have been executed

More information on SOLIDWORKS Macros can be found here How To: Create A Macro To Run On A SOLIDWORKS File.

Auto Recover

DriveWorks Administrator can be set to Auto Recover the current Project after a set amount of minutes.

The setting is available from General Settings. The Auto Recover interval is set to 5 minutes by default.

To change this in DriveWorks Administrator:

  1. Click the settings button from the Header Bar.
  2. Select the General Settings category then click the Autosave interval drop-down from the Auto Recover section.
  3. Choose the appropriate interval from the list.
  4. Click OK to apply and close the Settings dialog.

Auto Recover is a machine level setting and will be applied to all groups open in DriveWorks Administrator and on the machine the setting is applied.

Loading an Auto Recovered Project

When a project is opened and a more recent version exists, you will be prompted to load the most recent version.

  • Click Yes to load the most recent version.
  • Click No to load the last saved version.

Show Hidden Files When Viewing Specifications

With this option checked users will be able to see all documents (as defined in Stage 4: Output Rules Documents) generated for a specification.

This setting will override the Hide From Document List setting that can be applied to individual documents.

If left unchecked, the document will either be hidden or shown depending on its Hide From Document List setting found by editing a Document.

Also when this option is checked, and a document does not exist but has been set to be shown, a link to the document will appear but will not open anything when clicked.

Release Specifications to Autopilot

With this option checked, and using the default Specification Flow, released specifications will be processed by DriveWorks Autopilot.

This improves performance on the administrative machine by generating models and other information on an alternative machine.

When the Transition comes directly from the Running State the Enter Events of the Completed State are performed by the module the Transition was performed in (eg Admin, Live, User) on the administrative machine.

If the Transition is coming from Autopilot, when this option is checked, the Enter Events of the Completed State are performed by the Autopilot machine and therefore do not impact the administrative machine performance.

Document Generation

This option chooses at what stage documents will be created.

Options include:

  • Finish - Documents are created when a specification enters the Pending State, in the default Specification Flow, this is when the user clicks the Finish button.
  • Release - Documents are created when a specification enters a Completed State, in the default Specification Flow (this is when the user clicks the Release button).
  • Both - Documents are created on Finish and then recreated on Release. Existing documents will be overwritten unless using the SOLIDWORKS Enterprise PDM plugin or the naming of the document allows for this.

When generating multiple documents, the order in which they will be generated can be set in the Specification Flow. Please see the article How To: Change Document Generation Order for more information.

Allow Existing Specifications to be Edited

With this option checked users will be able to edit existing specifications. This setting will not enable models to be edited, only documents can be edited.

Overwrite Released Model Data

With this option checked users will be able to overwrite released model data. The setting Allow existing Specifications to be Edited must be checked to enable it.

We do not recommend applying this setting when a child specification releases models which are referenced in its parent; as the parent will overwrite the childs release data.

Hide Reports From Non-Administrators

With this option checked, all specification reports will be hidden from non-administrators.

Allow Relative Content for HTML files

This setting relates to the viewing of any HTML documents, that are created by a specification, in DriveWorks Live.

When this setting is checked then all files relative to the specification documents folder can be viewed.

When this setting is unchecked, DriveWorks will locate any src and href attributes in the HTML file then check any requested file against this. If it matches then DriveWorks will allow that file to be served, otherwise it won't.

Regardless of whether this setting is checked or unchecked, DriveWorks will prevent the download of any .driveprojx, .drivespec or .drivegroup files when trying to view a HTML specification document.

Shared Content Folder

This is the location where Macros and Templates are stored.

To browse to the shared Content Folder location:

  1. Click the "Browse" button located at the end of the Shared Content Folder field
  2. Select the folder where the files are to be found from the browse for Folder dialog
  3. Click "OK"
If the Shared Content folder is not accessible (for instance if its mapped to a machine that is switched off, or the network is down), then launching the New Project dialog or the Form From Template dialog will be very slow.

Redirect Machine-Level Settings

With this option checked all settings that would normally be stored for the machine and required administrative rights will be stored for the current user.

Automatically Open Last Used Group

With this option checked the last used Group will automatically load on launch of DriveWorks Administrator Project Designer. The SOLIDWORKS Add-in will not automatically load the last used Group.

Disable Queries

With this option checked all database queries will be disabled when a project is loaded.

Table of Contents