This document provides information on moving an Individual Group and all of the associated data belonging to any project within the group.
The process of moving an individual group will generally resemble the following:
If the purpose of the move is simply to locate the data in a more convenient location follow the instructions outlined in the remaining steps of this article.
If, however, the intention of the move is to allow other DriveWorks applications to connect to the group the Individual Group should be upscaled to a Shared Group (see Group Upscale).
The article How To: Deploy DriveWorks Pro provides information on where each DriveWorks application should be installed.
When moving a DriveWorks group it is essential a backup is taken to ensure the data can be restored if needed.
See How To: Backup an Individual Group for more information.
Once the Group and Project files have been backed up they can be moved. Ensure all DriveWorks applications and SOLIDWORKS, that could be accessing the group, are closed prior to moving.
Next simply locate the group file using windows explorer and move to the new location.
If the individual group has been moved from a local drive onto a network location the project data will require to be updated. For information on updating the references to the DriveWorks Project Data please see Data Management.
If the DriveWorks Project Data is also required to be moved please see the article How To: Move DriveWorks Data.
When the GroupName.drivegroup file has been moved the Group button and the Recent Group list on the DriveWorks Today home screen will require updating. To update the Group Button follow the steps below:
The Recent Group list on the DriveWorks Today home screen will automatically update on completion of the above steps.
|Knowledge Base Article Ref:||KB12121028|