DriveWorks Pro 15: General Settings [send feedback...]

General Settings

Default specification folder

This is the root location from where all new Models, Drawings and additional File Formats created by DriveWorks will be stored. Any new specification files and documents produced have the option to be stored in a separate location.

Each model generated by DriveWorks can be stored in a sub folder of this location.

To choose the Default specification folder location:

  1. Click the "Browse" button located at the end of the Default specification folder field
  2. Select the folder where the files are to be stored from the Browse for Folder dialogue
  3. Click "OK"

Group content folder

This is the location where global macros to be used across all projects within a group are stored.

The Macros that are to be used globally must be stored in a folder called "Macros", for example, if the Group content folder is found at "C:\DriveWorks\My Project\" then the global macros folder should be found at "C:\DriveWorks\My Project\Macros"

Four types of macro can be stored here:
  1. Model.swp - will be run on all models before any individual macros have been executed
  2. ModelAfterMacro.swp - will be run on all models after any individual macros have been executed
  3. Drawing.swp - will be run on all drawings before any individual macros have been executed
  4. DrawingAfterMacro.swp - will be run on all drawings after any individual macros have been executed

More information on SOLIDWORKS macros can be found here How To: Create A Macro To Run On A SOLIDWORKS File

Auto Recover

DriveWorks Administrator can be set to Auto Recover the current project after a set amount of minutes.

The setting is available from General Settings.

By default the Auto Recover interval is set to 5 minutes. This can be changed by:

  1. In DriveWorks Administrator click the settings button from the menu bar.
  2. With the General Settings category selected, click the Autosave interval drop down from the Auto Recover section.
  3. Select the required interval from the list.
  4. Click OK to apply and close the Settings dialog.

Auto Recover is a machine level setting and will be applied to all groups opened in DriveWorks Administrator on the machine the setting is applied.

Loading an Auto Recovered Project

When a project is opened and a more recent version exists, you will be prompted to load the more recent version.

  • Click Yes to load the most recent version.
  • Click No to load the last saved version.

Show hidden files when viewing specifications

With this option checked users will be able to see all documents (as defined in Stage 4: Output Rules  Documents) generated for a specification.

This setting will override the "Hide from document list" setting that can be applied to individual documents.

If unchecked then the document will either be hidden or shown depending on its own "Hide from document list" setting found by editing a document.

Also when this option is checked, and a document does not exist but has been set to be shown, a link to the document will appear but will not open anything when clicked.

Release specifications to Autopilot

With this option checked released specifications will be sent to DriveWorks Autopilot. This improves performance on the administrative computer by generating models and other information on a different machine.

Document generation

This option chooses at what stage the documents are created. Options include:

  • Finish - Documents are created when a specification enters the Pending state, in the default specification flow, this is when the user clicks the Finish button.
  • Release - Documents are created when a specification enters the Completed state, in the default specification flow, this is when the user clicks the Release button.
  • Both - Documents are created on Finish and then re-created on Release. Existing documents will be overwritten unless using the SOLIDWORKS Enterprise PDM plugin or the naming of the document allows for this.

When generating multiple documents the order each document is generated can be set in the specification flow. Please see the article How To: Change Document Generation Order for more information.

Allow existing specifications to be edited

With this option checked users will be able to edit existing specifications. This setting will not enable models to be edited, only documents will be edited.

Overwrite released model data

With this option checked users will be able to overwrite released model data. The setting Allow existing specifications to be edited must also be checked for this to be enabled.

We recommend this setting is not applied when a child specification releases models which are referenced in its parent; as the parent will overwrite the childs release data.

Hide reports from non-administrators

With this option checked all specification reports will be hidden from non-administrators.

Shared content folder

This is the location where macros and templates are stored.

To browse to the shared content folder location:

  1. Click the "Browse" button located at the end of the Shared content folder field
  2. Select the folder where the files are to be found from the browse for Folder dialogue
  3. Click "OK"
If the shared content folder is not accessible (for instance if its mapped to a machine that is switched off, or the network is down), then launching the new project dialog or the form from template dialog will be very slow.

Redirect machine-level settings

With this option checked all settings that would normally be stored for the machine and required administrative rights will be stored for the current user.

Automatically open last used group

With this option checked the last used group will automatically load on launch of DriveWorks Administrator Project Designer. The SOLIDWORKS Add-in will not automatically load the last used group.

Disable Queries

With this option checked all database queries will be disabled when the project is loaded.

Table of Contents