DriveWorks Pro 15: Released Master Files [send feedback...]

Released Master Files

The Released Master Files task is used to manage the SOLIDWORKS files that have been released to be generated. This includes:

  • SOLIDWORKS parts
  • SOLIDWORKS assemblies
  • SOLIDWORKS drawings

Whereas the Released Files tab shows the files that have been created by DriveWorks, Released Master Files shows the reference to where the Master Files were when the Specification was run, like a snapshot in time.

Next to each item is a colored orb that indicates the status of each released master file:

Generated (Green orb)

Generation failed (Red orb).

Neither generated or failed (Blue orb).

Not failed, but DriveWorks is unable to determine if it's been generated (Grey Orb).

The Released Master Files list can be be filtered by using the filter at the top of the list.

Please see the topic How To Use Filters for more advanced filtering information.

To update the location of a released master file:

If all released have the same file location then only the file location will need browsing to:

  1. Select Target File Location from the View By option.
  2. Right click the required folder from the folder tree on the left hand side of the window.
  3. Select change location. This will then enable you to browse to the new location of the folder.
  4. Click "OK" when the required folder has been selected.
  5. This will then update the released files found in that location.

If all released files have a different file location then they will all need browsing to:

  1. Select Target File Location from the View By option.
  2. Right click the required model from the model list.
  3. Select change location. this will then enable you to browse to the new location of the model.
  4. Click "Open" when the required model has been selected.
  5. This will then update the released files found in that location.

To delete released files:

There are three options available when deleting released files.

  • Delete on disk and queue for regeneration - Deletes the released file from the location it is stored and queues the file to be re-generated by DriveWorks.
  • Delete on disk and remove reference from the Group - Deletes the released file from the location it is stored and removes the reference to it from DriveWorks.
  • Remove reference from the Group - Keeps the released file in the location it is stored and removes the reference to it from DriveWorks.

If you wish to delete all of the released files from a group

  1. Right click the folder from the folder tree.
  2. Hover over the delete option and select the required operation from the list.

If you wish to delete the individual released files from a group

  1. Right click the target name from the target list.
  2. Hover over the delete option and select the required operation from the list.

Filtering the released files list

There are three filters that can be applied to the released files list when the View By is set to Target File Location.

FilterDescription

Toggles released files to be generated on/off
Toggles released files that have been generated on/off
Toggles released files that have failed to be generated on/off

View By Master File Location

DriveWorks Pro keeps a reference to the master files used to generate the released files.

If the location of the captured information changes the location of the masters for any released files will need updating if the released files were ever to be regenerated.

To change the folder location of all released master files

  1. Select Master File Location from the View By option.
  2. Right click the required folder from the folder tree on the left hand side of the window.
  3. Select change location. This will then enable you to browse to the new location of the folder.
  4. Click "OK" when the required folder has been selected.
  5. This will then update the master file location for released files found in that location.

To change the folder location of individual master files

  1. Select Master File Location from the View By option.
  2. Right click the required model from the model list.
  3. Select change location. this will then enable you to browse to the new location of the model.
  4. Click "Open" when the required model has been selected.
  5. This will then update the master file location for released files found in that location.

Data Management Filtering

Filtering is available throughout the Data Management Tool.

Filter boxes are found at the top of the file and file location columns in the main window of the following Data Management Tasks:

  • Captured Information.
  • Projects.
  • Specifications Information.
  • Released Files.
  • Released Master Files.

Specifications Information has a new column added which displays the Last Modified date and time of each specification made.

Specifications can be filtered based on the date they were created by entering the required date in the filter box.

Filtering

To Filter the information select the Data Management Task for which the information is to be filtered.

Once the task has been selected all of the information about that task is presented in the main window. The information is presented in 2 separate columns, which represent:

  • File Location
  • File Information

If you require to filter based on file location, use the filter box above the left column of the main window.

If you require to filter based on file information, use the filter box above the right column of the main window.

  1. Enter the filter criteria in the appropriate filter box

The information in the corresponding column will be filtered to match the criteria entered.

Clear the Filter

Once a filter has been applied it can be cleared by:

A. Removing the characters from the Filter box by using the backspace or delete keys on the keyboard.

Or

B. Clicking the clear button from the filter box (The black cross that appears once characters are entered).

Table of Contents