This document provides information on moving a Shared Group and all of the associated data belonging to any project within the group.
The process of moving data will generally resemble the following:
The article How To: Deploy DriveWorks Pro provides information on where each DriveWorks application should be installed.
DriveWorks Pro Server should be installed on the machine where the shared group is to be moved to. Please refer to the Pro Server Configuration topic for information on installing and using Pro Server.
SQL Server Management Studio Express will be required on the machine that hosts the existing shared group, to allow backup, and the machine where the group is to be moved to, to allow the backup to be restored.
If using the SQL database engine installed by DriveWorks you will require Microsoft® SQL Server® 2008 Management Studio Express. Available from http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=08e52ac2-1d62-45f6-9a4a-4b76a8564a2b.
If using Microsoft® SQL Server® 2005 and management studio is not installed please use http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=c243a5ae-4bd1-4e3d-94b8-5a0f62bf7796
When moving a DriveWorks shared group it is essential a backup is taken. This backup set creates a physical file that can be moved using Windows Explorer, but also provides a restore point should anything go wrong.
See How To: Backup a SQL Server Database for more information.
Once the backup set has been created the BAK file should be moved to a location that can be accessed from the new machine, using Windows Explorer.
DriveWorks Pro Server manages the DriveWorks groups in a SQL Server database by placing a reference to each group in a reserved table. Creating a dummy shared group in the new SQL Server will automatically place this reference in the correct table, allowing the shared group to be seen once it has been overwritten with the restored database.
Follow the steps outlined in the article How To: Restore a SQL Server Database at Step 10 follow the procedure Restoring to Overwrite an Existing Database
If the shared group has been moved from a local server onto a network server the project data will require to be updated. For information on updating the references to the DriveWorks Project Data please see Data Management.
If the DriveWorks Project Data is also required to be moved please see the article How To: Move DriveWorks Data.
When the SQL Server has been moved the Group button and the Recent Group list on the DriveWorks Today home screen will require updating. To update the Group Button follow the steps below:
The Recent Group list on the DriveWorks Today home screen will automatically update on completion of the above steps.
|Knowledge Base Article Ref:||KB13010805|