DriveWorks Pro 15: Security Settings [send feedback...]

Security Settings

The security settings task provides the ability to create Users, and Teams of users in order to control who can edit and specify projects, and work with captured information.

The Security Settings window lists all users and teams that have been added to the Group.

The Security Settings list can be be filtered by using the filter at the top of the list.

Please see the topic How To Use Filters for more advanced filtering information.

Or it can be sorted by clicking on one of the column headings:

  • Name - the name given to the Team or User.
  • Type - if the item is a Team or User.
  • Login Name - the login name given to the User.
  • Email Address - the email address given to the User.
  • Teams - the name of the Team or Teams the user belongs to.

To Create a New User

  1. Click the "New User" button on the command bar
  2. Give the user a name
  3. Click "OK"
  4. Setup any additional options on the Edit User dialog that appears
  5. Click "OK"

To Rename a User

  1. Select the user in the list of users and teams
  2. Click the "Rename" button on the command bar
  3. Change the user's name
  4. Press Enter/Return to save the user with the new name

To Edit a User's Level, Details, and Membership

  1. Select the user in the list of users and teams
  2. Click the "Edit" button on the command bar, a dialog will appear with two tabs "General" and "Teams"
  3. When finished editing the user's details, click "OK" to save them, or "Cancel" to leave without saving them.

General Tab

  • Display Name: The displayed name of the user.
  • Email Address: The email address of the user.
  • Team Leader: Controls whether the user can see only their own specifications, or all specifications created by users in the same teams.
  • Enabled: Control's whether the user can log in.

Teams Tab

The teams tab shows all teams in the group with a check box which can be checked to make the user a member of that team.

To Reset a User's Password

  1. Select the user in the list of users and teams
  2. Click the "Reset Password" button on the command bar.
  3. Type in the new password for the user.
  4. Type in the new password for the user again to confirm.
  5. Click "OK" to reset the user's password.
Changing the default Admin password

The default Admin password can be changed and we do recommend this is done. However, once changed it is irretrievable if lost or forgotten.

Please take care to remember the Admin password.

It can be reset by DriveWorks Ltd. However this may incur a charge.

To Delete a User

  1. Select the user in the list of users and teams
  2. Click the "Delete" button on the command bar.
This action cannot be undone. In general it is recommended to disable users rather than deleting them.

To Create a New Team

  1. Click the "New Team" button on the command bar
  2. Give the team a name
  3. Click "OK"
  4. Setup any additional options on the Edit Team dialog that appears
  5. Click "OK"

To Edit a Team's Members, and Permissions

  1. Select the team in the list of users and teams
  2. Click the "Edit" button on the command bar, a dialog will appear with three tabs "General", "Project Permissions", and "Users"
  3. When finished editing the team's details, click "OK" to save them, or "Cancel" to leave without saving them.

General Tab

The general tab shows various details and permissions applied to the team directly.

  • Display Name: The displayed name of the team.
  • Administer Group Security: Whether members of the team can use the Security Settings task to administer permissions in the group.
  • Members Can Capture: Whether members of the team can use the SOLIDWORKS addin to administer captured information in the group.
  • Members Can View and Edit All Specifications: Whether members of the team can see and edit all specifications created in the group, even if they are created by members of other teams.

Project Permissions Tab

The project permissions tab shows what permissions members of the team have to each project in the group.

To change the permissions for a project, select it, and check/uncheck the permissions that should be granted/removed.

  • Edit Project: Users in the Team will have the ability to edit the project in the project designer when this option is checked.
    Enabling Edit permissions makes the Users in the Team administrators of that project.

    Therefore the Project Setting Hide Project from non-administrators, when checked, will not apply to this Team i.e. The project will not be hidden.

  • Run Project: Users in the Team will have the ability to use the specification explorer to create new specifications from the project when this option is checked.

Users Tab

The users tab shows the users which are members of the team.

To add/remove users to/from the team, simply check/uncheck the box next to the users to modify.

Group Table Permissions Tab

If more than one DriveWorks Administrators are responsible for the projects held in the group, permissions to access the Group Table table data can be restricted.

To change permissions for Group Table access:

  1. Open the Group in DriveWorks Administrator and go to Stage 1: Group Setup> Security Settings
  2. Select the Team for which the Group Table Permissions are to be set.
  3. Click Edit from the command bar to launch the Edit Team dialog.
  4. Select the Group Table Permissions tab.
  5. Select the Group Table from the list and then check the permission option for that table. Available permissions are:
    • None - The Team cannot View or Edit the Group Table
    • View - The Team can view the Group Table only.
    • Edit - The Team can View and Edit the Group Table.

To Rename a Team

  1. Select the team in the list of users and teams
  2. Click the "Rename" button on the command bar
  3. Change the team's name
  4. Press Enter/Return to save the team with the new name

To Delete a Team

  1. Select the team in the list of users and teams
  2. Click the "Delete" button on the command bar.
This action cannot be undone.

DriveWorks Tech Tips Portal

Guest Account

The Specification Flow can be used to provide a Guest account which is able to run specifications without being able to view other user's specifications. It also allows for dealers with existing accounts to run their own specifications which are only visible to themselves.

View all Tech Tips

DriveWorks Tech Tips Portal is available to DriveWorks Pro customers with an active subscription and support contract.

Tech Tips provide cut down projects that highlight specific functionality for faster and more effective learning.

To access the portal:

  1. Go to https://hub.driveworks.co.uk/tech-tips/
  2. Login with your DriveWorks Pro account credentials, if asked
  3. Click the Visit Tech Tips Portal button for access

The portal provides a search facility, start typing the name of the Tech Tip (as indicated above) to display the Tip you require.

Users are added to teams to control their access to projects. Each user has a name and a password which they use to log on to a group.

Teams are groups of users. Each team has a configurable set of permissions which govern whether the users in that team can capture models, and edit and/or specify certain projects in the group.

Table of Contents